Bookie

11 Jun

One of my two personal bookshelves!

Welcome!

Literature is an ax for the frozen sea within us.

-Franz Kafka

Bonjour! I’m effieboo, and you know me from my website: In Limbo. Far from being bored with my website (on the contrary, I am so passionately in love with my blog that if it was a choice between you or my blog, I might choose blog. But I do love you!), I just wanted to have another sort of community.

You see, such a huge part of my life is reading. Books, literature, ideas. And I wanted to create a place to worship books and their magnificence. To speak fully on the nuances, quotes, truths and poetry found in each book I’ve read. When I read, I tend to be struck by various quotes or thoughts, and will write them down on scraps of paper of in a notebook. I hope that together, we can create a space where all of our paper scrap quotes and their meanings can come together to be talked about. Stories are all we really are, each of us, and books are a reflection of human truths. They are ever-so-important to me, and I know they are ever-so-important to you. So let’s go!

What does she know?

What makes me an expert? Nothing, I’m not an expert! Despite my best wishes (and to the chagrin of my favourite bookstore owner, Rob), I haven’t read nearly enough of the great classic novels of our time. I probably have no idea what I’m talking about when I pick out passages to lean on or tell friends about the tone of a novel. But I think that’s what makes reading so astonishing. Nobody cares if you’re an expert! You’re a human, and humans love stories. We tell them every day! They are the basis for our whole social life (Timmy fell off the play structure, I made ricotta pancakes for breakfast, etc) and so integral to our sense of self.

So, about the website..

So here’s the motto of this website: NO EXPERTS HERE. I don’t want rigorous analysis of grammatical structure or anything like that. I want discussions on what the words mean to you, how they make you feel, how a book changed you. This should be fun, interesting and uplifting.

Let’s just have fun! I’ll start by myself, then bring in contributors (aka friends and family) and then whoever else wants to review a book! Everyone is welcome to participate in the discussion.

Happy Reading!

xoxo, S.

Leave a Reply

